Your Essay Is A Delightful Symphony Of Grammatical Errors

When feedback is infected with AI

Russell Eveleigh
5 min readMay 27, 2024

Before the rise of our AI overlords our impending digital dominion might experience a few comedic glitches along the way.

A robot in the classroom ready to give some brutal feedback.
A robot in the classroom ready to give some brutal feedback. Photo by Arseny Togulev on Unsplash

Ever since I realised that Copilot could complete my students coding challenges in seconds, I’ve been waiting for the AI take over.

I’ve imagined school inspectors taking advantage of AI tools to write school inspection reports. I mean, there must be an element of tact required when formally expressing concern about the discovery that all the naughty kids had been locked in a cupboard:

Dear Principal,

I am writing to report on my recent inspection of your school. During my visit, I made a surprising discovery while conducting a routine check of the classrooms. While inspecting one of the classrooms, I noticed that the door to a cupboard located in the back of the room was slightly ajar. Upon further investigation, I discovered that several students who had been causing disciplinary issues had been hidden…

--

--

Russell Eveleigh

A school teacher and family man in the UK who likes tinkering with code and who sometimes tries to write good.